Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Hospital + ExtrasClosed

Simple Start - Basic Plus

A Hospital + Extras product from Bupa. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.

Services covered (5)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): $0
  • Scale and clean (114): $0
  • Fluoride (121): $0
  • Extraction (322): $0
Not stated
Glasses and contact lenses2 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: $0
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: $0
Not stated
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $0
  • Subsequent visit: $0
Not statedShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: $0
  • Subsequent visit: $0
Not statedShared with Physiotherapy, Podiatry
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: $0
  • Subsequent visit: $0
Not statedShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic

Not covered: Major dental, Root canal (endodontics), Orthodontics (braces), Orthoptics, Hearing aids, Audiology (hearing tests), Osteopathy, Exercise physiology, Orthotics, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Remedial massage, Psychology, Dietetics, Speech therapy, Occupational therapy, Non-PBS prescription medicines, Vaccinations, Blood glucose monitors, Antenatal and postnatal care, Health management programs, Home nursing

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental

    Not stated

  • Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Podiatry

    Not stated

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    Not stated

Insurer's notes (original English)

Product features

Simple Start includes a $50 bonus to help with any out-of-pocket costs, plus 2 dietary phone consultations with a Bupa dietitian. Benefits only paid at Members First providers – visit bupa.com.au/find-a-provider.

Special features

Services only covered at Members First providers. General dental cover includes a basic dental checkup + 2 bitewing x-rays (item:022). Physio, Chiro and Podiatry include 3 consultations in total. Podiatry does not include Orthotics.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Simple Start - Basic Plus pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Simple Start - Basic Plus pays up to $0 per scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: Not stated.
What are the waiting periods for Simple Start - Basic Plus?
General dental 2 months, Glasses and contact lenses 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months.
Can Simple Start - Basic Plus be bought on its own?
This product combines hospital and Extras in one policy, with Basic Plus hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?