Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Extras-onlyOn sale

Basic Extras

A Extras-only product from Latrobe Health Services. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

Services covered (10)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): $30.50
  • Scale and clean (114): $57.60
  • Fluoride (121): $23.20
$500 a year
Major dental12 months
  • Full crown, veneered (615): $0
Not stated
Glasses and contact lenses6 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: $150
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: $150
$150 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: $25
$250 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Podiatry, Remedial massage, Osteopathy, Vaccinations
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $30
  • Subsequent visit: $30
$250 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines, Chiropractic, Podiatry, Remedial massage, Osteopathy, Vaccinations
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: $26
  • Subsequent visit: $26
$250 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines, Physiotherapy, Podiatry, Remedial massage, Osteopathy, Vaccinations
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: $25
  • Subsequent visit: $25
$250 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines, Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Remedial massage, Osteopathy, Vaccinations
Remedial massage2 months
  • Initial visit: $25
  • Subsequent visit: $25
$250 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines, Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Podiatry, Osteopathy, Vaccinations
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: $25
  • Subsequent visit: $25
$250 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines, Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Podiatry, Remedial massage, Vaccinations
Vaccinations2 months
  • Per vaccination: $25
$250 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines, Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Podiatry, Remedial massage, Osteopathy

Not covered: Root canal (endodontics), Orthodontics (braces), Orthoptics, Hearing aids, Audiology (hearing tests), Exercise physiology, Orthotics, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Psychology, Dietetics, Speech therapy, Occupational therapy, Blood glucose monitors, Antenatal and postnatal care, Health management programs, Home nursing

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental

    $500 a year

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $150 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines, Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Podiatry, Remedial massage, Osteopathy, Vaccinations

    $250 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Major dental

    Not stated

Insurer's notes (original English)

Other services

A benefit is also payable for a 50% rebate on full ambulance subscriptions when paid voluntarily but not as a state tax or levy. Vaccinations are for travel vaccines and must be approved by Latrobe.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Basic Extras pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Basic Extras pays up to $57.60 per scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: $500 a year.
What are the waiting periods for Basic Extras?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 6 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Vaccinations 2 months.
Can Basic Extras be bought on its own?
Yes. This product doesn't need to be held with hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?