Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Hospital + ExtrasClosed

Prime Package Silver Plus $250/$500 Excess & Ambulance Care

A Hospital + Extras product from HBF. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.

Services covered (19)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): $42.50
  • Scale and clean (114): $83.30
  • Fluoride (121): $21.25
  • Extraction (322): $132.30
$3,500 a yearShared with Major dental, Root canal (endodontics), Orthodontics (braces)
Major dental12 months
  • Full crown, veneered (615): $780
$3,500 a yearShared with General dental, Root canal (endodontics), Orthodontics (braces)
Root canal (endodontics)12 months
  • Root canal obturation (417): $150
$3,500 a yearShared with General dental, Major dental, Orthodontics (braces)
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): $2,500
$3,500 a yearShared with General dental, Major dental, Root canal (endodontics)
Glasses and contact lenses2 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: $160
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: $160
$204 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: $200
$200 a year
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $39
  • Subsequent visit: $33
$1,000 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Osteopathy
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: $40
  • Subsequent visit: $30
$1,000 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Osteopathy
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: $33
  • Subsequent visit: $30
Not stated
Psychology2 months
  • Initial visit: $44
  • Subsequent visit: $44
$720 a year
Hearing aids12 months
  • Per hearing aid: 100% of the fee
Not stated
Blood glucose monitors12 months
  • Blood glucose monitor: $200
Not stated
Dietetics2 months
  • Initial visit: $54
  • Subsequent visit: $32
$240 a year
Orthoptics2 months
  • Initial visit: $45
  • Subsequent visit: $45
$600 a yearShared with Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Health management programs2 months
  • Health management program: 70% of the fee
$250 a year
Occupational therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $51
  • Subsequent visit: $39
$600 a yearShared with Orthoptics, Speech therapy
Orthotics12 months
  • Per pair of orthotics: $240
$240 a year
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: $39
  • Subsequent visit: $33
$1,000 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic
Speech therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $75
  • Subsequent visit: $40
$600 a yearShared with Orthoptics, Occupational therapy

Not covered: Audiology (hearing tests), Exercise physiology, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Remedial massage, Vaccinations, Antenatal and postnatal care, Home nursing

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental, Major dental, Root canal (endodontics), Orthodontics (braces)

    $3,500 a year

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $204 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines

    $200 a year

  • Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Osteopathy

    $1,000 a year

  • Podiatry

    12 per year

  • Hearing aids

    Not stated

  • Blood glucose monitors

    1 per 3 years

  • Dietetics

    $240 a year

  • Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy

    $600 a year

  • Health management programs

    $250 a year

  • Orthotics

    $240 a year

  • Psychology

    $720 a year

Insurer's notes (original English)

Other services

Prime Package Silver Plus also includes cover for: CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY (waiting period 2 months, $79 initial visit and $44 subsequent visit up to $720 combined with Psychology per person); AIDS TO RECOVERY EQUIPMENT (waiting period 2 months, $50 per person); NON-SURGICALLY IMPLANTED APPLIANCES (waiting period 12 months, benefits vary depending on appliance up to $500 per person, sub-limits apply); NEBULISER (waiting period 12 months, $108 per person up to 1 appliance every 3 years. **Note: Health Management/Healthy Lifestyle – initial visit for Strength for Life is $35 up to combined limit listed.

Special features

Orthodontics and Implants combined sub-limit of $2,500. Orthodontic Lifetime Limit $2,500. Before a benefit is payable on an eligible Pharmacy item, a co-payment amount reasonably determined by HBF is deducted from the cost of each script.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Prime Package Silver Plus $250/$500 Excess & Ambulance Care pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Prime Package Silver Plus $250/$500 Excess & Ambulance Care pays up to $83.30 per scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: $3,500 a year.
What are the waiting periods for Prime Package Silver Plus $250/$500 Excess & Ambulance Care?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Root canal (endodontics) 12 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 2 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months, Psychology 2 months, Hearing aids 12 months, Blood glucose monitors 12 months, Dietetics 2 months, Orthoptics 2 months, Health management programs 2 months, Occupational therapy 2 months, Orthotics 12 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Speech therapy 2 months.
Can Prime Package Silver Plus $250/$500 Excess & Ambulance Care be bought on its own?
This product combines hospital and Extras in one policy, with Silver Plus hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?