Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Hospital + ExtrasClosed

Safeguard - Basic Plus $200 Excess

A Hospital + Extras product from nib. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.

Services covered (13)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): $21
  • Scale and clean (114): $35
  • Fluoride (121): $19
  • Extraction (322): $65
Not stated
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): 100% of the fee
Not stated
Glasses and contact lenses6 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: $140
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: $190
$250 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: $45
$450 a year
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $28
  • Subsequent visit: $26
$400 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: $25
  • Subsequent visit: $22
$400 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Psychology2 months
  • Initial visit: $45
  • Subsequent visit: $40
$300 a year
Remedial massage2 months
  • Initial visit: $19
  • Subsequent visit: $18
$170 a yearShared with Dietetics
Antenatal and postnatal care2 months
  • Initial visit: $11
  • Subsequent visit: $11
$400 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Dietetics2 months
  • Initial visit: $19
  • Subsequent visit: $18
$170 a yearShared with Remedial massage
Exercise physiology2 months
  • Initial visit: $28
  • Subsequent visit: $26
$400 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Osteopathy
Health management programs6 months
  • Health management program: 100% of the fee
$200 a year
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: $25
  • Subsequent visit: $23
$400 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology

Not covered: Major dental, Root canal (endodontics), Orthoptics, Hearing aids, Audiology (hearing tests), Podiatry, Orthotics, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Speech therapy, Occupational therapy, Vaccinations, Blood glucose monitors, Home nursing

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental

    Not stated

  • Orthodontics (braces)

    Not stated

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $250 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines

    $450 a year

  • Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy

    $400 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Psychology

    $300 a year

  • Remedial massage, Dietetics

    $170 a year

  • Health management programs

    $200 a year

Insurer's notes (original English)

Product features

nib does not have a preferred-provider-network-arrangement, but operates an nib-MediGap scheme aiming to eliminate the 'gap' payments for specialist fees in hospital. When a specialist chooses to participate in MediGap, they agree not to charge an out-of-pocket expense for your procedure. We do this by building a network of specialists who may agree to receive a higher benefit from nib than they would ordinarily receive. In exchange they do not charge nib customers an out-of-pocket expense. Ask your specialist if they'll MediGap for you! Our Going to Hospital Pack provides more ways to reduce out-of-pockets, ask us for your copy

Other services

The General Dental annual limit includes multiple sub-limits, and for some sub-limits lifetime limits apply. Waiting periods for Dental treatment range between 2 and 12 months. Healthy lifestyle includes benefits for quit smoking and nicotine replacement aswell as nib approved weight management programs. Postnatal services are not covered on this product. Psychology has a sublimit of $150 for Digital Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT).

Special features

Benefit paid after current PBS patient contribution deducted - up to $45

Frequently asked questions

How much does Safeguard - Basic Plus $200 Excess pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Safeguard - Basic Plus $200 Excess pays up to $35 per scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: Not stated.
What are the waiting periods for Safeguard - Basic Plus $200 Excess?
General dental 2 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 6 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Psychology 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Antenatal and postnatal care 2 months, Dietetics 2 months, Exercise physiology 2 months, Health management programs 6 months, Osteopathy 2 months.
Can Safeguard - Basic Plus $200 Excess be bought on its own?
This product combines hospital and Extras in one policy, with Basic Plus hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?