Safeguard - Basic Plus $400 Excess
A Hospital + Extras product from nib. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.
This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.
Services covered (13)
| Service | Waiting period | Max benefit per visit | Annual limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| General dental | 2 months |
| Not stated |
| Orthodontics (braces) | 12 months |
| Not stated |
| Glasses and contact lenses | 6 months |
| $250 a year |
| Non-PBS prescription medicines | 2 months |
| $450 a year |
| Physiotherapy | 2 months |
| $400 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy |
| Chiropractic | 2 months |
| $400 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy |
| Psychology | 2 months |
| $300 a year |
| Remedial massage | 2 months |
| $170 a yearShared with Dietetics |
| Antenatal and postnatal care | 2 months |
| $400 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy |
| Dietetics | 2 months |
| $170 a yearShared with Remedial massage |
| Exercise physiology | 2 months |
| $400 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Osteopathy |
| Health management programs | 6 months |
| $200 a year |
| Osteopathy | 2 months |
| $400 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology |
Not covered: Major dental, Root canal (endodontics), Orthoptics, Hearing aids, Audiology (hearing tests), Podiatry, Orthotics, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Speech therapy, Occupational therapy, Vaccinations, Blood glucose monitors, Home nursing
Annual limits
Services in the same group share one limit.
General dental
Not stated
Orthodontics (braces)
Not stated
Glasses and contact lenses
$250 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines
$450 a year
Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
$400 a year
Also includes other services not listed
Psychology
$300 a year
Remedial massage, Dietetics
$170 a year
Health management programs
$200 a year
Insurer's notes (original English)
Product features
nib does not have a preferred-provider-network-arrangement, but operates an nib-MediGap scheme aiming to eliminate the 'gap' payments for specialist fees in hospital. When a specialist chooses to participate in MediGap, they agree not to charge an out-of-pocket expense for your procedure. We do this by building a network of specialists who may agree to receive a higher benefit from nib than they would ordinarily receive. In exchange they do not charge nib customers an out-of-pocket expense. Ask your specialist if they'll MediGap for you! Our Going to Hospital Pack provides more ways to reduce out-of-pockets, ask us for your copy
Other services
The General Dental annual limit includes multiple sub-limits, and for some sub-limits lifetime limits apply. Waiting periods for Dental treatment range between 2 and 12 months. Healthy lifestyle includes benefits for quit smoking and nicotine replacement aswell as nib approved weight management programs. Postnatal services are not covered on this product. Psychology has a sublimit of $150 for Digital Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT).
Special features
Benefit paid after current PBS patient contribution deducted - up to $45
Frequently asked questions
How much does Safeguard - Basic Plus $400 Excess pay for a scale and clean?
What are the waiting periods for Safeguard - Basic Plus $400 Excess?
Can Safeguard - Basic Plus $400 Excess be bought on its own?
Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits
Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.
