Top Hospital (Gold) & Young Care Extras
A Hospital + Extras product from Queensland Country Health Fund. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.
This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.
Services covered (17)
| Service | Waiting period | Max benefit per visit | Annual limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| General dental | 2 months |
| $500 a yearShared with Major dental |
| Major dental | 12 months |
| $500 a yearShared with General dental |
| Glasses and contact lenses | 2 months |
| $225 a year |
| Non-PBS prescription medicines | 2 months |
| $150 a yearShared with Vaccinations |
| Physiotherapy | 2 months |
| $400 a year |
| Chiropractic | 2 months |
| $500 a yearShared with Podiatry, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine, Orthotics, Osteopathy |
| Podiatry | 2 months |
| $500 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine, Orthotics, Osteopathy |
| Acupuncture | 2 months |
| $500 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine, Orthotics, Osteopathy |
| Remedial massage | 2 months |
| $500 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Orthotics, Osteopathy |
| Hearing aids | 12 months |
| Not stated |
| Blood glucose monitors | 12 months |
| Not stated |
| Chinese herbal medicine | 2 months |
| $500 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Orthotics, Osteopathy |
| Health management programs | 2 months |
| $125 a year |
| Home nursing | 12 months |
| Not stated |
| Orthotics | 2 months |
| $500 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine, Osteopathy |
| Osteopathy | 2 months |
| $500 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine, Orthotics |
| Vaccinations | 2 months |
| $150 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines |
Not covered: Root canal (endodontics), Orthodontics (braces), Orthoptics, Audiology (hearing tests), Exercise physiology, Psychology, Dietetics, Speech therapy, Occupational therapy, Antenatal and postnatal care
Annual limits
Services in the same group share one limit.
General dental, Major dental
$500 a year
Glasses and contact lenses
$225 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines, Vaccinations
$150 a year
Physiotherapy
$400 a year
Chiropractic, Podiatry, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine, Orthotics, Osteopathy
$500 a year, $300 per service
Health management programs
$125 a year
Hearing aids
Not stated
Blood glucose monitors
Not stated
Home nursing
Not stated
Insurer's notes (original English)
Product features
Health management (Healthy Living benefit) provides benefits towards the costs of metabolic dieticians or nutritionists consultations to assist with weight management, diabetes education consultations, quit smoking programs, skin checks for skin cancers (except where there is a Medicare benefit), bowel screening and bone density tests, a second yearly prostate specific antigen test not covered by Medicare, supermarket tours conducted by a dietitian or other allied health professional qualified to provide nutrition advice, and gym memberships/personal training sessions provided under an approved health management or chronic disease management program. Please contact the insurer for full details.
Special features
Hearing aid limit increases with length of membership – up to 10 years $1,000, 10-15 years $1,500, and 15 years + $2,000. Benefits on the purchase (or hire where applicable) of Health Appliances and Services approved by Queensland Country Health Fund with a limit of $2,000 per person per Membership Year (sub-limits and benefit replacement periods apply to some items). Please contact Queensland Country Health Fund regarding benefit availability prior to purchasing an Appliance or Service.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Top Hospital (Gold) & Young Care Extras pay for a scale and clean?
What are the waiting periods for Top Hospital (Gold) & Young Care Extras?
Can Top Hospital (Gold) & Young Care Extras be bought on its own?
Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits
Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.
