Active Extras (ACE)
A Extras-only product from Australian Unity. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.
This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.
Services covered (23)
| Service | Waiting period | Max benefit per visit | Annual limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| General dental | 2 months |
| $700 a year |
| Major dental | 12 months |
| $700 a yearShared with Root canal (endodontics) |
| Root canal (endodontics) | 12 months |
| $700 a yearShared with Major dental |
| Orthodontics (braces) | 12 months |
| Not stated |
| Glasses and contact lenses | 6 months |
| $250 a year |
| Non-PBS prescription medicines | 2 months |
| $400 a year |
| Physiotherapy | 2 months |
| $400 a yearShared with Exercise physiology |
| Chiropractic | 2 months |
| $250 a yearShared with Osteopathy |
| Podiatry | 2 months |
| $300 a yearShared with Orthotics |
| Psychology | 2 months |
| $300 a year |
| Acupuncture | 2 months |
| $250 a yearShared with Remedial massage |
| Remedial massage | 2 months |
| $250 a yearShared with Acupuncture |
| Hearing aids | 12 months |
| $1,200 a year |
| Blood glucose monitors | 12 months |
| $400 a year |
| Audiology (hearing tests) | 2 months |
| $300 a yearShared with Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy |
| Dietetics | 2 months |
| $400 a year |
| Exercise physiology | 2 months |
| $400 a yearShared with Physiotherapy |
| Orthoptics | 2 months |
| $300 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Occupational therapy, Speech therapy |
| Occupational therapy | 2 months |
| $300 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Orthoptics, Speech therapy |
| Orthotics | 12 months |
| $300 a yearShared with Podiatry |
| Osteopathy | 2 months |
| $250 a yearShared with Chiropractic |
| Speech therapy | 2 months |
| $300 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Orthoptics, Occupational therapy |
| Vaccinations | No waiting period |
| $200 a year |
Not covered: Chinese herbal medicine, Antenatal and postnatal care, Health management programs, Home nursing
Annual limits
Services in the same group share one limit.
General dental
$700 a year
Major dental, Root canal (endodontics)
$700 a year
Also includes other services not listed
Orthodontics (braces)
Not stated
Glasses and contact lenses
$250 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines
$400 a year
Physiotherapy, Exercise physiology
$400 a year
Chiropractic, Osteopathy
$250 a year
Podiatry, Orthotics
$300 a year
Also includes other services not listed
Psychology
$300 a year
Acupuncture, Remedial massage
$250 a year
Also includes other services not listed
Hearing aids
$1,200 a year
Blood glucose monitors
$400 a year
Also includes other services not listed
Audiology (hearing tests), Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
$300 a year
Dietetics
$400 a year
Vaccinations
$200 a year
Insurer's notes (original English)
Other services
Annual benefit limits apply per calendar year. Myotherapy - $40 per consultation, maximum $250 per person (combined limit - see Acupuncture), 2 month waiting period. Braces, Splints and Garments - up to 70% of the cost, maximum $300 per person (combined limit - see Podiatry), 12 month waiting period. Devices and Aids: Asthma Pumps, Peak Flow Meters, Blood Pressure Monitors, TENS machines, CPAP/BPAP devices, Non-Surgical Prosthesis - up to 70% of cost, maximum $400 per person (combined limit - see Blood Glucose Monitors), 12 month waiting period. Benefit for each item is payable every 2 calendar years (does not apply to Wigs). Wheelchairs and Crutches - up to 70% of cost, maximum $400 per person (combined limit - see Blood Glucose Monitors), 2 months waiting period. There are Preventative Health Services available on this cover, waiting periods may apply. Please refer to the product Fact Sheet or contact Australian Unity for further details.
Special features
1)No waiting period for preventative dental and selected diagnostic services. Treatments claimed as No Gap Dental benefits (where available) do not count to the yearly limit. 2)Full denture replacement limited to once every three years. 3)Gum disease treatment included under Endodontics (12 month waiting period). 4)$40 for chiropractic x-ray, limit one per person per calendar year. 5) Benefit for each Hearing-Aid is payable every 3-calendar years (does not apply to repairs) 2-month waiting period for repairs 6)Benefits for Blood Glucose Monitors payable once every 2 calendar years. 7) Orthotic benefits are for supply only. 8)Travel vaccinations only.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Active Extras (ACE) pay for a scale and clean?
What are the waiting periods for Active Extras (ACE)?
Can Active Extras (ACE) be bought on its own?
Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits
Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.
