Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Extras-onlyClosed

Prime Extras (PRE)

A Extras-only product from Australian Unity. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.

Services covered (24)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): $47
  • Scale and clean (114): $95
  • Fluoride (121): $29
$900 a year
Major dental12 months
  • Extraction (322): $244
  • Full crown, veneered (615): $804
$900 a yearShared with Root canal (endodontics)
Root canal (endodontics)12 months
  • Root canal obturation (417): $232
$900 a yearShared with Major dental
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): 100% of the fee
Not stated
Glasses and contact lenses6 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
$300 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: $50
$500 a year
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $70
  • Subsequent visit: $70
$500 a yearShared with Exercise physiology
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: $50
  • Subsequent visit: $50
$300 a yearShared with Osteopathy
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: $50
  • Subsequent visit: $50
$400 a yearShared with Orthotics
Psychology2 months
  • Initial visit: $100
  • Subsequent visit: $100
$400 a year
Acupuncture2 months
  • Initial visit: $50
  • Subsequent visit: $50
$300 a yearShared with Remedial massage
Remedial massage2 months
  • Initial visit: $50
  • Subsequent visit: $50
$300 a yearShared with Acupuncture
Hearing aids12 months
  • Per hearing aid: 80% of the fee
$1,500 a year
Blood glucose monitors12 months
  • Blood glucose monitor: 80% of the fee
$500 a year
Audiology (hearing tests)2 months
  • Initial visit: $80
  • Subsequent visit: $80
$400 a yearShared with Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Antenatal and postnatal care2 months
  • Initial visit: $70
  • Subsequent visit: $70
$400 a year
Dietetics2 months
  • Initial visit: $50
  • Subsequent visit: $50
$500 a year
Exercise physiology2 months
  • Initial visit: $70
  • Subsequent visit: $70
$500 a yearShared with Physiotherapy
Orthoptics2 months
  • Initial visit: $80
  • Subsequent visit: $80
$400 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Occupational therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $80
  • Subsequent visit: $80
$400 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Orthoptics, Speech therapy
Orthotics12 months
  • Per pair of orthotics: 80% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Podiatry
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: $50
  • Subsequent visit: $50
$300 a yearShared with Chiropractic
Speech therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $80
  • Subsequent visit: $80
$400 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Orthoptics, Occupational therapy
VaccinationsNo waiting period
  • Per vaccination: $50
$250 a year

Not covered: Chinese herbal medicine, Health management programs, Home nursing

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental

    $900 a year

  • Major dental, Root canal (endodontics)

    $900 a year

  • Orthodontics (braces)

    Not stated

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $300 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines

    $500 a year

  • Physiotherapy, Exercise physiology

    $500 a year

  • Chiropractic, Osteopathy

    $300 a year

  • Podiatry, Orthotics

    $400 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Psychology

    $400 a year

  • Acupuncture, Remedial massage

    $300 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Hearing aids

    $1,500 a year

  • Blood glucose monitors

    $500 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Audiology (hearing tests), Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy

    $400 a year

  • Antenatal and postnatal care

    $400 a year

  • Dietetics

    $500 a year

  • Vaccinations

    $250 a year

Insurer's notes (original English)

Other services

Annual benefit limits apply per calendar year. Myotherapy - $50 per consultation, maximum $300 per person (combined limit - see Acupuncture), 2 month waiting period. Braces, Splints and Garments - up to 80% of the cost, maximum $400 per person (combined limit - see Podiatry), 12 month waiting period. Devices and aids: Asthma pumps, Peak flow meters, Blood pressure monitors, Tens machines, CPAP/BPAP devices, Non-surgical prosthesis - up to 80% of cost, maximum $500 per person (combined limit - see Blood glucose monitors), 12 month waiting period. Benefit for each item is payable every 2 calendar years (does not apply to wigs). Wheelchairs and crutches - up to 80% of cost, maximum $500 per person (combined limit - see Blood glucose monitors), 2 months waiting period. There are Preventative Health Services available on this cover, waiting periods may apply. Please refer to the product Fact Sheet or contact Australian Unity for further details.

Special features

1)No waiting-period for preventative dental and selected diagnostic services.Treatments claimed as No Gap Dental benefits (where available)do not count to yearly limit 2)Full denture replacement limited to once every-three-years. 3)Surgical teeth extractions and gum-disease treatment included under Endodontics (12 month waiting period). 4)Orthodontic maximum increases apply per person. 5)$50 chiropractic x-ray, limit one per-person per-calendar-year. 6)Benefit for each Hearing-Aid is payable every 3-calendar years (does not apply to repairs) 2-month waiting period for repairs 7)Benefits for Blood glucose monitors payable once every 2 calendar years. 8) Orthotic benefits are for supply only. 9)Travel vaccinations only

Frequently asked questions

How much does Prime Extras (PRE) pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Prime Extras (PRE) pays up to $95 per scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: $900 a year.
What are the waiting periods for Prime Extras (PRE)?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Root canal (endodontics) 12 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 6 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months, Psychology 2 months, Acupuncture 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Hearing aids 12 months, Blood glucose monitors 12 months, Audiology (hearing tests) 2 months, Antenatal and postnatal care 2 months, Dietetics 2 months, Exercise physiology 2 months, Orthoptics 2 months, Occupational therapy 2 months, Orthotics 12 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Speech therapy 2 months, Vaccinations No waiting period.
Can Prime Extras (PRE) be bought on its own?
Yes. This product doesn't need to be held with hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?