BASIC Hospital & Premium Extras (Single)
A Hospital + Extras product from Hunter Health Insurance. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.
Services covered (23)
| Service | Waiting period | Max benefit per visit | Annual limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| General dental | 2 months |
| Not stated |
| Major dental | 12 months |
| $1,100 a year |
| Root canal (endodontics) | 12 months |
| No annual limit |
| Orthodontics (braces) | 12 months |
| $600 a year |
| Glasses and contact lenses | 2 months |
| $290 a year |
| Non-PBS prescription medicines | 2 months |
| $700 a year |
| Physiotherapy | 2 months |
| $700 a yearShared with Occupational therapy, Speech therapy |
| Chiropractic | 2 months |
| $600 a yearShared with Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy |
| Podiatry | 2 months |
| $600 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy |
| Psychology | 2 months |
| $600 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy |
| Acupuncture | 2 months |
| $600 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy |
| Remedial massage | 2 months |
| $600 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy |
| Hearing aids | 36 months |
| $750 a year |
| Blood glucose monitors | 12 months |
| $500 a year |
| Antenatal and postnatal care | 2 months |
| $250 a year |
| Dietetics | 2 months |
| $600 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy |
| Exercise physiology | 2 months |
| $600 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Osteopathy |
| Health management programs | 2 months |
| $65 a year |
| Home nursing | 2 months |
| $950 a year |
| Occupational therapy | 2 months |
| $700 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Speech therapy |
| Orthotics | 2 months |
| $200 a year |
| Osteopathy | 2 months |
| $600 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology |
| Speech therapy | 2 months |
| $700 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Occupational therapy |
Not covered: Orthoptics, Audiology (hearing tests), Chinese herbal medicine, Vaccinations
Annual limits
Services in the same group share one limit.
General dental
Not stated
Major dental
$1,100 a year
Root canal (endodontics)
No annual limit
Orthodontics (braces)
$600 a year, $2,500 lifetime
Glasses and contact lenses
$290 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines
$700 a year
Physiotherapy, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
$700 a year
Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
$600 a year
Hearing aids
$750 a year
Also includes other services not listed
Blood glucose monitors
$500 a year, 1 per year
Also includes other services not listed
Antenatal and postnatal care
$250 a year
Health management programs
$65 a year
Orthotics
$200 a year
Home nursing
$950 a year
Insurer's notes (original English)
Product features
Orthodontic is paid at 75% of account in current year to max $600.00 with $250.00 per year accumulated up to a maximum benefit of $2500.00 per person per lifetime.
Other services
Does not include treatment for: Alexander technique; Aromatherapy; Bowen therapy; Buteyko; Feldenkrais; Western herbalism; homeopathy; iridology; kinesiology; naturopathy; Pilates; reflexology; Rolfing; Shiatsu; Tai chi; Yoga CSIRO Total Wellbeing Diet $60 Per Year Per Membership
Special features
Ambulance cover is only available if taken with a Hospital Cover
Frequently asked questions
How much does BASIC Hospital & Premium Extras (Single) pay for a scale and clean?
What are the waiting periods for BASIC Hospital & Premium Extras (Single)?
Can BASIC Hospital & Premium Extras (Single) be bought on its own?
Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits
Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.
