Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Extras-onlyOn sale

Hunter Extras Cover (Single)

A Extras-only product from Hunter Health Insurance. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

Services covered (24)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): 100% of the fee
  • Scale and clean (114): 100% of the fee
  • Fluoride (121): $25
  • Extraction (322): $125
Not stated
Major dental12 months
  • Full crown, veneered (615): $800
$850 a year
Root canal (endodontics)2 months
  • Root canal obturation (417): $125
No annual limit
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): $2,400
$400 a year
Glasses and contact lenses2 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
$299 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: $70
$700 a yearShared with Vaccinations
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $40
  • Subsequent visit: $36
$700 a yearShared with Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: $26
  • Subsequent visit: $22
$480 a yearShared with Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: $26
  • Subsequent visit: $22
$480 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Psychology2 months
  • Initial visit: $38
  • Subsequent visit: $38
$480 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Acupuncture2 months
  • Initial visit: $35
  • Subsequent visit: $35
$480 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Remedial massage2 months
  • Initial visit: $40
  • Subsequent visit: $40
$480 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Hearing aids12 months
  • Per hearing aid: 75% of the fee
$750 a year
Blood glucose monitors12 months
  • Blood glucose monitor: 75% of the fee
$100 a year
Antenatal and postnatal care2 months
  • Initial visit: $15
  • Subsequent visit: $15
$150 a year
DieteticsNo waiting period
  • Initial visit: $26
$480 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Exercise physiology2 months
  • Initial visit: $26
  • Subsequent visit: $26
$480 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Osteopathy
Health management programs2 months
  • Health management program: $50
$100 a year
Home nursing2 months
  • Initial visit: $16
  • Subsequent visit: $16
Not stated
Occupational therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $28
  • Subsequent visit: $28
$700 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Speech therapy
Orthotics12 months
  • Per pair of orthotics: 75% of the fee
$150 a year
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: $26
  • Subsequent visit: $22
$480 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology
Speech therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $28
  • Subsequent visit: $32
$700 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Occupational therapy
Vaccinations2 months
  • Per vaccination: $70
$700 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines

Not covered: Orthoptics, Audiology (hearing tests), Chinese herbal medicine

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental

    Not stated

  • Major dental

    $850 a year

  • Root canal (endodontics)

    No annual limit

  • Orthodontics (braces)

    $400 a year, $2,400 lifetime

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $299 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines, Vaccinations

    $700 a year

  • Physiotherapy, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy

    $700 a year

  • Chiropractic, Podiatry, Psychology, Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy

    $480 a year

  • Hearing aids

    $750 a year

  • Blood glucose monitors

    $100 a year

  • Antenatal and postnatal care

    $150 a year

  • Health management programs

    $100 a year

  • Home nursing

    Not stated

  • Orthotics

    $150 a year

Insurer's notes (original English)

Other services

CSIRO Total Wellbeing Diet $299 1 Per Membership Per Year

Frequently asked questions

How much does Hunter Extras Cover (Single) pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Hunter Extras Cover (Single) pays 100% of the fee for a scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: Not stated.
What are the waiting periods for Hunter Extras Cover (Single)?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Root canal (endodontics) 2 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 2 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months, Psychology 2 months, Acupuncture 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Hearing aids 12 months, Blood glucose monitors 12 months, Antenatal and postnatal care 2 months, Dietetics No waiting period, Exercise physiology 2 months, Health management programs 2 months, Home nursing 2 months, Occupational therapy 2 months, Orthotics 12 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Speech therapy 2 months, Vaccinations 2 months.
Can Hunter Extras Cover (Single) be bought on its own?
Yes. This product doesn't need to be held with hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?