Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Hospital + ExtrasOn sale

Signature Choice (Silver Plus)

A Hospital + Extras product from Australian Unity. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

Services covered (24)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): 60% of the fee
  • Scale and clean (114): 60% of the fee
  • Fluoride (121): 60% of the fee
  • Extraction (322): 60% of the fee
Not statedShared with Major dental, Root canal (endodontics)
Major dental12 months
  • Full crown, veneered (615): 60% of the fee
Not statedShared with General dental, Root canal (endodontics)
Root canal (endodontics)12 months
  • Root canal obturation (417): 60% of the fee
Not statedShared with General dental, Major dental
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): 100% of the fee
$800 a year
Glasses and contact lenses6 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
$250 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: 60% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Vaccinations
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$500 a yearShared with Exercise physiology
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$300 a yearShared with Osteopathy
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Orthotics
Psychology2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$300 a year
Acupuncture2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Remedial massage, Dietetics
Remedial massage2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Acupuncture, Dietetics
Hearing aids12 months
  • Per hearing aid: 60% of the fee
$600 a year
Blood glucose monitors12 months
  • Blood glucose monitor: 60% of the fee
$300 a year
Audiology (hearing tests)2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$300 a yearShared with Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Dietetics2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Acupuncture, Remedial massage
Exercise physiology2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$500 a yearShared with Physiotherapy
Orthoptics2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$300 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Health management programs6 months
  • Health management program: 60% of the fee
$250 a year
Occupational therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$300 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Orthoptics, Speech therapy
Orthotics12 months
  • Per pair of orthotics: 60% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Podiatry
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$300 a yearShared with Chiropractic
Speech therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: 60% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 60% of the fee
$300 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Orthoptics, Occupational therapy
VaccinationsNo waiting period
  • Per vaccination: 100% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines

Not covered: Chinese herbal medicine, Antenatal and postnatal care, Home nursing

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental, Major dental, Root canal (endodontics)

    Not stated

  • Orthodontics (braces)

    $800 a year, $2,400 lifetime

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $250 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines, Vaccinations

    $400 a year

  • Physiotherapy, Exercise physiology

    $500 a year

  • Chiropractic, Osteopathy

    $300 a year

  • Podiatry, Orthotics

    $400 a year

  • Psychology

    $300 a year

  • Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Dietetics

    $400 a year

  • Hearing aids

    $600 a year

  • Blood glucose monitors

    $300 a year

  • Audiology (hearing tests), Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy

    $300 a year

  • Health management programs

    $250 a year

Insurer's notes (original English)

Product features

Please refer to the product Fact Sheet or contact Australian Unity for further details.

Other services

Annual benefit limits apply per calendar year. Myotherapy - 60% per consultation, maximum $400 per person, $800 per family (combined limit - see Acupuncture), 2 month waiting period. Braces, Splints and Garments - up to 60% of the cost, maximum $400 per person, $800 per family (combined limit - see Podiatry), 12 month waiting period. Devices and aids: Asthma pumps, Peak flow meters, Blood pressure monitors, Tens machines, CPAP/BPAP devices, Non-surgical prosthesis - up to 60% of cost, maximum $300 per person, $600 per family (combined limit - see Blood glucose monitors), 12 month waiting period. Benefit for each item is payable every 2 calendar years (does not apply to wigs). Wheelchairs and crutches - up to 60% of cost, maximum $300 per person, $600 per family (combined limit - see Blood glucose monitors), 2 months waiting period. There are Preventative Health Services and Health Support Programs available on this cover. Please refer to the product Fact Sheet or contact Australian Unity for further details.

Special features

1) No waiting-period for preventative dental and selected diagnostic services. Treatments claimed as No Gap Dental benefits (where available) do not count to yearly limit 2) Full denture replacement limited to once every-three-years. 3) Surgical teeth extractions and gum-disease treatment included under Endodontics (12 month waiting period). 4) 60% of chiropractic x-ray fee, limit one per-person per-calendar-year. 5) Benefit for each Hearing-Aid is payable every 3-calendar years (does not apply to repairs) 2-month waiting period for repairs 6) Benefits for Blood glucose monitors payable once every 2 calendar years. 7) Orthotic benefits are for supply only. 8) Travel vaccinations only

Frequently asked questions

How much does Signature Choice (Silver Plus) pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Signature Choice (Silver Plus) pays 60% of the fee for a scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: Not stated.
What are the waiting periods for Signature Choice (Silver Plus)?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Root canal (endodontics) 12 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 6 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months, Psychology 2 months, Acupuncture 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Hearing aids 12 months, Blood glucose monitors 12 months, Audiology (hearing tests) 2 months, Dietetics 2 months, Exercise physiology 2 months, Orthoptics 2 months, Health management programs 6 months, Occupational therapy 2 months, Orthotics 12 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Speech therapy 2 months, Vaccinations No waiting period.
Can Signature Choice (Silver Plus) be bought on its own?
This product combines hospital and Extras in one policy, with Silver Plus hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?