Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Extras-onlyOn sale

Top 70

A Extras-only product from HBF. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

Services covered (24)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): 70% of the fee
  • Scale and clean (114): 70% of the fee
  • Fluoride (121): 70% of the fee
  • Extraction (322): 70% of the fee
No annual limit
Major dental12 months
  • Full crown, veneered (615): 70% of the fee
$1,000 a yearShared with Root canal (endodontics)
Root canal (endodontics)12 months
  • Root canal obturation (417): 70% of the fee
$1,000 a yearShared with Major dental
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): 100% of the fee
$800 a year
Glasses and contact lenses2 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
$275 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: 70% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Vaccinations
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$600 a yearShared with Exercise physiology
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Osteopathy
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Orthotics
Psychology2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$500 a year
Acupuncture2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$300 a yearShared with Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine
Remedial massage2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$300 a yearShared with Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine
Hearing aids12 months
  • Per hearing aid: 100% of the fee
Not stated
Blood glucose monitors2 months
  • Blood glucose monitor: 70% of the fee
$500 a year
Chinese herbal medicine2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$300 a yearShared with Acupuncture, Remedial massage
Dietetics2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$400 a year
Exercise physiology2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$600 a yearShared with Physiotherapy
Orthoptics2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$400 a year
Health management programs2 months
  • Health management program: 100% of the fee
$350 a year
Occupational therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$400 a year
Orthotics12 months
  • Per pair of orthotics: 70% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Podiatry
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Chiropractic
Speech therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: 70% of the fee
  • Subsequent visit: 70% of the fee
$400 a year
Vaccinations2 months
  • Per vaccination: 100% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines

Not covered: Audiology (hearing tests), Antenatal and postnatal care, Home nursing

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental

    No annual limit

  • Major dental, Root canal (endodontics)

    $1,000 a year

  • Orthodontics (braces)

    $800 a year, $2,400 lifetime

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $275 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines, Vaccinations

    $400 a year

  • Physiotherapy, Exercise physiology

    $600 a year

  • Chiropractic, Osteopathy

    $400 a year

  • Podiatry, Orthotics

    $400 a year

  • Psychology

    $500 a year

  • Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine

    $300 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Hearing aids

    Not stated

  • Blood glucose monitors

    $500 a year, 1 per year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Dietetics

    $400 a year

  • Orthoptics

    $400 a year

  • Health management programs

    $350 a year

  • Occupational therapy

    $400 a year

  • Speech therapy

    $400 a year

Insurer's notes (original English)

Other services

Top 70 also includes cover for: CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY (waiting period 2 months, 70% initial or subsequent visit up to combined limit - see Psychology); HYPNOTHERAPY (waiting period 2 months, 70% initial or subsequent visit up to combined limit - see Acupuncture); MYOTHERAPY (waiting period 2 months, 70% initial or subsequent visit up to combined limit - see Acupuncture); APPLIANCES, PROSTHESES AND AIDS (waiting period 2-12 months, 70% up to combined limit - see Blood glucose monitors); NUTRITION (waiting period 2 months, 70% initial or subsequent visit up to combined limit - see Dietetics/dietary advice). **Note: Orthotics (podiatric orthoses) has a $250 sub-limit.

Special features

Before a benefit is payable on an eligible Pharmacy item, a co-payment amount reasonably determined by HBF is deducted from the cost of each script.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Top 70 pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Top 70 pays 70% of the fee for a scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: No annual limit.
What are the waiting periods for Top 70?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Root canal (endodontics) 12 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 2 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months, Psychology 2 months, Acupuncture 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Hearing aids 12 months, Blood glucose monitors 2 months, Chinese herbal medicine 2 months, Dietetics 2 months, Exercise physiology 2 months, Orthoptics 2 months, Health management programs 2 months, Occupational therapy 2 months, Orthotics 12 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Speech therapy 2 months, Vaccinations 2 months.
Can Top 70 be bought on its own?
Yes. This product doesn't need to be held with hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?