Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Hospital + ExtrasClosed

Public Hospital Plus Extras - Basic Plus $750 Excess

A Hospital + Extras product from nib. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.

Services covered (26)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): $21
  • Scale and clean (114): $35
  • Fluoride (121): $19
  • Extraction (322): $65
Not statedShared with Major dental
Major dental12 months
  • Full crown, veneered (615): $415
Not statedShared with General dental
Root canal (endodontics)12 months
  • Root canal obturation (417): $80
Not stated
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): 100% of the fee
Not stated
Glasses and contact lenses6 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: $140
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: $190
$200 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: $60
$600 a year
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $28
  • Subsequent visit: $26
$900 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: $25
  • Subsequent visit: $22
$900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: $25
  • Subsequent visit: $21
$220 a year
Psychology2 months
  • Initial visit: $45
  • Subsequent visit: $40
$300 a year
Acupuncture2 months
  • Initial visit: $21
  • Subsequent visit: $11
$900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy
Remedial massage2 months
  • Initial visit: $19
  • Subsequent visit: $18
Not statedShared with Chinese herbal medicine
Hearing aids36 months
  • Per hearing aid: $560
$560 a year
Blood glucose monitors12 months
  • Blood glucose monitor: $180
$600 a year
Antenatal and postnatal care2 months
  • Initial visit: $11
  • Subsequent visit: $11
$900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy
Chinese herbal medicine2 months
  • Initial visit: $19
  • Subsequent visit: $18
Not statedShared with Remedial massage
Dietetics2 months
  • Initial visit: $27
  • Subsequent visit: $25
$250 a year
Exercise physiology2 months
  • Initial visit: $28
  • Subsequent visit: $26
$900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy
Orthoptics2 months
  • Initial visit: $28
  • Subsequent visit: $25
$900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy
Health management programs6 months
  • Health management program: 100% of the fee
Not stated
Home nursing2 months
  • Initial visit: $72
  • Subsequent visit: $72
$750 a year
Occupational therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $29
  • Subsequent visit: $28
$900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Osteopathy, Speech therapy
Orthotics2 months
  • Per pair of orthotics: $100
$200 a year
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: $25
  • Subsequent visit: $23
$900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Speech therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $29
  • Subsequent visit: $27
$900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy
Vaccinations2 months
  • Per vaccination: $16
$100 a year

Not covered: Audiology (hearing tests)

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental, Major dental

    Not stated

  • Root canal (endodontics)

    Not stated

  • Orthodontics (braces)

    Not stated

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $200 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines

    $600 a year

  • Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy

    $900 a year

  • Podiatry

    $220 a year

  • Psychology

    $300 a year

  • Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine

    Not stated

  • Hearing aids

    $560 a year, 2 per 5 years

  • Blood glucose monitors

    $600 a year, 2 per year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Dietetics

    $250 a year

  • Health management programs

    Not stated

  • Home nursing

    $750 a year

  • Orthotics

    $200 a year

  • Vaccinations

    $100 a year

Insurer's notes (original English)

Product features

nib also has policy benefits for a wide range of other services such as shiatsu and nutrition. Then receive up to a 4% discount for payment by direct debit from a cheque or savings account. Please note that limits may apply per policy for artificial aids such as blood glucose monitors.

Other services

Combined Therapies ($900) includes acupuncture, antenatal services, chiropractic, exercise physiology, eye therapy, occupational therapy, osteopathy, physiotherapy and speech pathology. Artificial aids ($600) e.g. spacer, peak flow meter, nebuliser, Irlen lens. Myotherapy: combined limit of $170 with remedial massage and Chinese herbalism. Healthier Lifestyle includes nib approved weight management and quit smoking. Postnatal services are not covered. Psychology has a sublimit of $150 for Digital Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT).

Special features

Benefit paid after current PBS patient contribution deducted

Frequently asked questions

How much does Public Hospital Plus Extras - Basic Plus $750 Excess pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Public Hospital Plus Extras - Basic Plus $750 Excess pays up to $35 per scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: Not stated.
What are the waiting periods for Public Hospital Plus Extras - Basic Plus $750 Excess?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Root canal (endodontics) 12 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 6 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months, Psychology 2 months, Acupuncture 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Hearing aids 36 months, Blood glucose monitors 12 months, Antenatal and postnatal care 2 months, Chinese herbal medicine 2 months, Dietetics 2 months, Exercise physiology 2 months, Orthoptics 2 months, Health management programs 6 months, Home nursing 2 months, Occupational therapy 2 months, Orthotics 2 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Speech therapy 2 months, Vaccinations 2 months.
Can Public Hospital Plus Extras - Basic Plus $750 Excess be bought on its own?
This product combines hospital and Extras in one policy, with Basic Plus hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?