Public Hospital Plus Extras - Basic Plus nil Excess
A Hospital + Extras product from nib. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.
This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.
Services covered (26)
| Service | Waiting period | Max benefit per visit | Annual limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| General dental | 2 months |
| Not statedShared with Major dental |
| Major dental | 12 months |
| Not statedShared with General dental |
| Root canal (endodontics) | 12 months |
| Not stated |
| Orthodontics (braces) | 12 months |
| Not stated |
| Glasses and contact lenses | 6 months |
| $200 a year |
| Non-PBS prescription medicines | 2 months |
| $600 a year |
| Physiotherapy | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Chiropractic | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Podiatry | 2 months |
| $220 a year |
| Psychology | 2 months |
| $300 a year |
| Acupuncture | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Remedial massage | 2 months |
| Not statedShared with Chinese herbal medicine |
| Hearing aids | 36 months |
| $560 a year |
| Blood glucose monitors | 12 months |
| $600 a year |
| Antenatal and postnatal care | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Chinese herbal medicine | 2 months |
| Not statedShared with Remedial massage |
| Dietetics | 2 months |
| $250 a year |
| Exercise physiology | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Orthoptics | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Health management programs | 6 months |
| Not stated |
| Home nursing | 2 months |
| $750 a year |
| Occupational therapy | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Orthotics | 2 months |
| $200 a year |
| Osteopathy | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy |
| Speech therapy | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy |
| Vaccinations | 2 months |
| $100 a year |
Not covered: Audiology (hearing tests)
Annual limits
Services in the same group share one limit.
General dental, Major dental
Not stated
Root canal (endodontics)
Not stated
Orthodontics (braces)
Not stated
Glasses and contact lenses
$200 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines
$600 a year
Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy
$900 a year
Podiatry
$220 a year
Psychology
$300 a year
Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine
Not stated
Hearing aids
$560 a year, 2 per 5 years
Blood glucose monitors
$600 a year, 2 per year
Also includes other services not listed
Dietetics
$250 a year
Health management programs
Not stated
Home nursing
$750 a year
Orthotics
$200 a year
Vaccinations
$100 a year
Insurer's notes (original English)
Product features
nib also has policy benefits for a wide range of other services such as shiatsu and nutrition. Then receive up to a 4% discount for payment by direct debit from a cheque or savings account. Please note that limits may apply per policy for artificial aids such as blood glucose monitors.
Other services
Combined Therapies ($900) includes acupuncture, antenatal services, chiropractic, exercise physiology, eye therapy, occupational therapy, osteopathy, physiotherapy and speech pathology. Artificial aids ($600) e.g. spacer, peak flow meter, nebuliser, Irlen lens. Myotherapy: combined limit of $170 with remedial massage and Chinese herbalism. Healthier Lifestyle includes nib approved weight management and quit smoking. Postnatal services are not covered. Psychology has a sublimit of $150 for Digital Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT).
Special features
Benefit paid after current PBS patient contribution deducted
Frequently asked questions
How much does Public Hospital Plus Extras - Basic Plus nil Excess pay for a scale and clean?
What are the waiting periods for Public Hospital Plus Extras - Basic Plus nil Excess?
Can Public Hospital Plus Extras - Basic Plus nil Excess be bought on its own?
Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits
Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.
