Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Hospital + ExtrasOn sale

Protector Silver Plus Hospital 250 and Super Extras

A Hospital + Extras product from St Lukes Health. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

Services covered (25)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): 100% of the fee
  • Scale and clean (114): 100% of the fee
  • Fluoride (121): $36
  • Extraction (322): $180
$1,000 a year
Major dental12 months
  • Full crown, veneered (615): $810
$1,200 a yearShared with Root canal (endodontics)
Root canal (endodontics)12 months
  • Root canal obturation (417): $180
$1,200 a yearShared with Major dental
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): 100% of the fee
$1,000 a year
Glasses and contact lenses6 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: $300
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: $300
$300 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: $70
$600 a year
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $61
  • Subsequent visit: $51
$850 a yearShared with Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: $41
  • Subsequent visit: $30
$400 a yearShared with Osteopathy
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: $50
  • Subsequent visit: $41
$400 a year
Psychology2 months
  • Initial visit: $145
  • Subsequent visit: $110
Not stated
Acupuncture2 months
  • Initial visit: $35
  • Subsequent visit: $30
$500 a yearShared with Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine
Remedial massage2 months
  • Initial visit: $35
  • Subsequent visit: $30
$500 a yearShared with Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine
Hearing aids36 months
  • Per hearing aid: $1,000
Not stated
Blood glucose monitors12 months
  • Blood glucose monitor: $200
$1,000 a yearShared with Orthotics
Audiology (hearing tests)2 months
  • Initial visit: $50
  • Subsequent visit: $40
$1,000 a yearShared with Dietetics, Home nursing, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Antenatal and postnatal care2 months
  • Initial visit: $51
  • Subsequent visit: $51
$850 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics
Chinese herbal medicine2 months
  • Initial visit: $32
  • Subsequent visit: $28
$500 a yearShared with Acupuncture, Remedial massage
Dietetics2 months
  • Initial visit: $75
  • Subsequent visit: $45
$1,000 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Home nursing, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Exercise physiology2 months
  • Initial visit: $58
  • Subsequent visit: $41
$850 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Antenatal and postnatal care, Orthoptics
Orthoptics2 months
  • Initial visit: $65
  • Subsequent visit: $38
$850 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology
Home nursing2 months
  • Initial visit: $50
  • Subsequent visit: $50
$1,000 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Dietetics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Occupational therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $80
  • Subsequent visit: $59
$1,000 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Dietetics, Home nursing, Speech therapy
Orthotics12 months
  • Per pair of orthotics: 100% of the fee
$1,000 a yearShared with Blood glucose monitors
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: $60
  • Subsequent visit: $47
$400 a yearShared with Chiropractic
Speech therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $120
  • Subsequent visit: $81
$1,000 a yearShared with Audiology (hearing tests), Dietetics, Home nursing, Occupational therapy

Not covered: Vaccinations, Health management programs

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental

    $1,000 a year

  • Major dental, Root canal (endodontics)

    $1,200 a year

  • Orthodontics (braces)

    $1,000 a year, $2,800 lifetime

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $300 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines

    $600 a year

  • Physiotherapy, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics

    $850 a year

  • Chiropractic, Osteopathy

    $400 a year

  • Podiatry

    $400 a year

  • Psychology

    Not stated

  • Hearing aids

    2 per 5 years

  • Blood glucose monitors, Orthotics

    $1,000 a year

  • Audiology (hearing tests), Dietetics, Home nursing, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy

    $1,000 a year, 2 per year

  • Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine

    $500 a year

Insurer's notes (original English)

Product features

Orthodontic limit included in annual Major Dental limit. Diabetes Education & Nutrition benefits included in Dietetics sub-limit. Overall limit of $1000 per person applies to Health Appliances & Aids, individual limits apply. $250 sub-limit applies to foot orthotics. Approved health management programs when Super Extras taken with hospital cover. Member rewards apply after 5 years continuous membership.

Other services

Acupuncture, Remedial massage, Western herbal medicine, Alexander Technique, Myotherapy, Naturopathy and Shiatsu are included in the Complimentary Therapies annual limit.

Special features

Under Preventative Dental, we pay up to 100% of the average fee charged Australia wide up to the maximum benefit for each eligible service. This applies to examinations, x-rays, scale and clean and fissure sealing. If your dentist charges above the maximum benefit, or in excess of the average fee, a gap or out of pocket may apply. Annual limits, fund rules and waiting periods apply. A 2-month waiting period applies to Psychology with the exception of functional assessment for the purpose of diagnosing ADHS and/or autism spectrum disorders diagnosis which has a 12-month waiting period.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Protector Silver Plus Hospital 250 and Super Extras pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Protector Silver Plus Hospital 250 and Super Extras pays 100% of the fee for a scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: $1,000 a year.
What are the waiting periods for Protector Silver Plus Hospital 250 and Super Extras?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Root canal (endodontics) 12 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 6 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months, Psychology 2 months, Acupuncture 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Hearing aids 36 months, Blood glucose monitors 12 months, Audiology (hearing tests) 2 months, Antenatal and postnatal care 2 months, Chinese herbal medicine 2 months, Dietetics 2 months, Exercise physiology 2 months, Orthoptics 2 months, Home nursing 2 months, Occupational therapy 2 months, Orthotics 12 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Speech therapy 2 months.
Can Protector Silver Plus Hospital 250 and Super Extras be bought on its own?
This product combines hospital and Extras in one policy, with Silver Plus hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?