Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Extras-onlyClosed

Everyday Extras

A Extras-only product from HBF. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.

Services covered (23)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): $42
  • Scale and clean (114): $83
  • Fluoride (121): $21
  • Extraction (322): $116
$600 a year
Major dental12 months
  • Full crown, veneered (615): $690
$1,500 a yearShared with Root canal (endodontics), Orthodontics (braces)
Root canal (endodontics)12 months
  • Root canal obturation (417): $137
$1,500 a yearShared with Major dental, Orthodontics (braces)
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): $1,500
$1,500 a yearShared with Major dental, Root canal (endodontics)
Glasses and contact lenses2 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
$225 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: $400
$400 a year
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $44
  • Subsequent visit: $38
$400 a year
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: $40
  • Subsequent visit: $27
$400 a year
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: $40
  • Subsequent visit: $34
$400 a yearShared with Orthotics
Psychology2 months
  • Initial visit: $75
  • Subsequent visit: $75
$400 a year
Acupuncture2 months
  • Initial visit: $39
  • Subsequent visit: $39
$200 a yearShared with Chinese herbal medicine
Remedial massage2 months
  • Initial visit: $39
  • Subsequent visit: $39
$200 a year
Hearing aids12 months
  • Per hearing aid: 100% of the fee
Not stated
Blood glucose monitors12 months
  • Blood glucose monitor: 60% of the fee
$800 a year
Chinese herbal medicine2 months
  • Initial visit: $39
  • Subsequent visit: $39
$200 a yearShared with Acupuncture
Dietetics2 months
  • Initial visit: $62
  • Subsequent visit: $36
$400 a year
Exercise physiology2 months
  • Initial visit: $28
  • Subsequent visit: $28
$400 a year
Orthoptics2 months
  • Initial visit: $42
  • Subsequent visit: $42
$400 a year
Health management programs2 months
  • Health management program: 60% of the fee
$200 a year
Occupational therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $58
  • Subsequent visit: $44
$400 a year
Orthotics12 months
  • Per pair of orthotics: 60% of the fee
$400 a yearShared with Podiatry
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: $44
  • Subsequent visit: $38
$400 a year
Speech therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $65
  • Subsequent visit: $44
$400 a year

Not covered: Audiology (hearing tests), Vaccinations, Antenatal and postnatal care, Home nursing

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental

    $600 a year

  • Major dental, Root canal (endodontics), Orthodontics (braces)

    $1,500 a year

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $225 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines

    $400 a year

  • Physiotherapy

    $400 a year

  • Chiropractic

    $400 a year

  • Podiatry, Orthotics

    $400 a year

  • Psychology

    $400 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine

    $200 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Remedial massage

    $200 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Hearing aids

    Not stated

  • Dietetics

    $400 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Exercise physiology

    $400 a year

  • Orthoptics

    $400 a year

  • Health management programs

    $200 a year

  • Occupational therapy

    $400 a year

  • Osteopathy

    $400 a year

  • Speech therapy

    $400 a year

  • Blood glucose monitors

    $800 a year, 1 per 3 years

    Also includes other services not listed

Insurer's notes (original English)

Other services

Everyday Extras also includes cover for: CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY (waiting period 2 months, $100 initial visit and $75 subsequent visit up to combined limit – see Psychology); HYPNOTHERAPY (waiting period 2 months, $78 initial or subsequent visit up to combined limit - see Acupuncture); MYOTHERAPY (waiting period 2 months, $39 initial or subsequent visit up to combined limit - see Remedial Massage); Other approved appliances (waiting period 2-12 months, 60% up to combined limit- see Blood glucose monitors, sub-limits apply); NUTRITION (waiting period 2 months, $62 initial visit and $36 subsequent visit up to combined limit - see Dietetics/dietary advice); NICOTINE REPLACEMENT THERAPY (waiting period 2 months, 100% up to combined limit - see Health Management/Healthy Lifestyle); TRAVEL VACCINATIONS (waiting period 2 months, 100% up to combined limit - see Health Management/Healthy Lifestyle).

Special features

Before a benefit is payable on an eligible Pharmacy item, a co-payment amount reasonably determined by HBF is deducted from the cost of each script.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Everyday Extras pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Everyday Extras pays up to $83 per scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: $600 a year.
What are the waiting periods for Everyday Extras?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Root canal (endodontics) 12 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 2 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months, Psychology 2 months, Acupuncture 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Hearing aids 12 months, Blood glucose monitors 12 months, Chinese herbal medicine 2 months, Dietetics 2 months, Exercise physiology 2 months, Orthoptics 2 months, Health management programs 2 months, Occupational therapy 2 months, Orthotics 12 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Speech therapy 2 months.
Can Everyday Extras be bought on its own?
Yes. This product doesn't need to be held with hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?