Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Extras-onlyClosed

Top Extras

A Extras-only product from HBF. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.

Services covered (24)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months
  • Periodic exam (012): $50
  • Scale and clean (114): $98
  • Fluoride (121): $25
  • Extraction (322): $162
No annual limit
Major dental12 months
  • Full crown, veneered (615): $960
$800 a yearShared with Root canal (endodontics)
Root canal (endodontics)12 months
  • Root canal obturation (417): $185
$800 a yearShared with Major dental
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): $800
$800 a year
Glasses and contact lenses2 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: $250
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: $250
$551 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: $600
$600 a year
Physiotherapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $63
  • Subsequent visit: $53
$1,000 a year
Chiropractic2 months
  • Initial visit: $65
  • Subsequent visit: $40
$500 a yearShared with Osteopathy
Podiatry2 months
  • Initial visit: $47
  • Subsequent visit: $43
Not stated
Psychology2 months
  • Initial visit: $70
  • Subsequent visit: $70
$1,850 a year
Acupuncture2 months
  • Initial visit: $48
  • Subsequent visit: $48
$350 a yearShared with Chinese herbal medicine
Remedial massage2 months
  • Initial visit: $48
  • Subsequent visit: $48
$400 a year
Hearing aids12 months
  • Per hearing aid: 100% of the fee
Not stated
Blood glucose monitors12 months
  • Blood glucose monitor: 100% of the fee
$200 a year
Chinese herbal medicine2 months
  • Initial visit: $48
  • Subsequent visit: $48
$350 a yearShared with Acupuncture
Dietetics2 months
  • Initial visit: $78
  • Subsequent visit: $45
$400 a year
Exercise physiology2 months
  • Initial visit: $28
  • Subsequent visit: $28
$400 a year
Orthoptics2 months
  • Initial visit: $49
  • Subsequent visit: $49
$1,000 a yearShared with Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Health management programs2 months
  • Health management program: 80% of the fee
$350 a year
Occupational therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $73
  • Subsequent visit: $55
$1,000 a yearShared with Orthoptics, Speech therapy
Orthotics12 months
  • Per pair of orthotics: $276
$276 a year
Osteopathy2 months
  • Initial visit: $55
  • Subsequent visit: $48
$500 a yearShared with Chiropractic
Speech therapy2 months
  • Initial visit: $97
  • Subsequent visit: $56
$1,000 a yearShared with Orthoptics, Occupational therapy
Vaccinations2 months
  • Per vaccination: 100% of the fee
Not stated

Not covered: Audiology (hearing tests), Antenatal and postnatal care, Home nursing

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental

    No annual limit

  • Major dental, Root canal (endodontics)

    $800 a year

  • Orthodontics (braces)

    $800 a year, $2,800 lifetime

  • Glasses and contact lenses

    $551 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines

    $600 a year

  • Physiotherapy

    $1,000 a year

  • Chiropractic, Osteopathy

    $500 a year

  • Podiatry

    10 per year

  • Psychology

    $1,850 a year

  • Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine

    $350 a year

  • Remedial massage

    $400 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

  • Hearing aids

    Not stated

  • Blood glucose monitors

    $200 a year, 1 per 3 years

  • Dietetics

    $400 a year

  • Exercise physiology

    $400 a year

  • Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy

    $1,000 a year

  • Health management programs

    $350 a year

  • Orthotics

    $276 a year

  • Vaccinations

    Not stated

Insurer's notes (original English)

Other services

Top Extras also includes cover for: MYOTHERAPY (waiting period 2 months, $48 initial or subsequent visit up to combined limit - see Remedial Massage); CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY (waiting period 2 months, $130 initial visit and $70 subsequent visit up to $1850 combined with psychology per person); NUTRITION (waiting period 2 months, $78 initial visit and $45 subsequent visit up to $200 per person); NICOTINE REPLACEMENT THERAPY (waiting period 2 months, $100 per person); NON-SURGICALLY IMPLANTED APPLIANCES (waiting period 12 months, benefits vary depending on aid up to $500 per person, sub-limits apply); NEBULISER (waiting period 12 months, $180 per person up to 1 appliance every 3 years); HYPNOTHERAPY (waiting period 2 months, $98 initial or subsequent visit up to combined limit $400 per person, combined limit for Hypnotherapy, Health Monitoring Equipment & Preventative Equipment); HEALTH MONITORING EQUIPMENT (waiting period 2 months, $120 per person up to combined limit – see Hypnotherapy); PREVENTATIVE EQUIPMENT (waiting period 2 months, $120 per person up to combined limit – see Hypnotherapy). **Note: Health Management/Healthy Lifestyle – initial visit for Strength for Life is $47 up to combined limit listed.

Special features

Before a benefit is payable on an eligible Pharmacy item, a co-payment amount reasonably determined by HBF is deducted from the cost of each script.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Top Extras pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, Top Extras pays up to $98 per scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: No annual limit.
What are the waiting periods for Top Extras?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Root canal (endodontics) 12 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 2 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Podiatry 2 months, Psychology 2 months, Acupuncture 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Hearing aids 12 months, Blood glucose monitors 12 months, Chinese herbal medicine 2 months, Dietetics 2 months, Exercise physiology 2 months, Orthoptics 2 months, Health management programs 2 months, Occupational therapy 2 months, Orthotics 12 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Speech therapy 2 months, Vaccinations 2 months.
Can Top Extras be bought on its own?
Yes. This product doesn't need to be held with hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?