Skip to main content

Mon–Sat, 9am–7pm (Sydney time)

私保通 Private Care+
Extras-onlyOn sale

My Choice Extras Family 60

A Extras-only product from Medibank. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.

Government data date: 1 October 2026

Services covered (19)

ServiceWaiting periodMax benefit per visitAnnual limit
General dental2 months

NSW / ACT

  • Periodic exam (012): $23.50
  • Scale and clean (114): $46
  • Fluoride (121): $14.20
  • Extraction (322): $113.70

VIC

  • Periodic exam (012): $22.50
  • Scale and clean (114): $43.60
  • Fluoride (121): $13
  • Extraction (322): $93

QLD

  • Periodic exam (012): $22.50
  • Scale and clean (114): $43.10
  • Fluoride (121): $12.30
  • Extraction (322): $96.90

WA

  • Periodic exam (012): $23
  • Scale and clean (114): $43.60
  • Fluoride (121): $12.80
  • Extraction (322): $90.60

SA

  • Periodic exam (012): $22.50
  • Scale and clean (114): $44
  • Fluoride (121): $13.30
  • Extraction (322): $93

TAS

  • Periodic exam (012): $26
  • Scale and clean (114): $43.60
  • Fluoride (121): $14.20
  • Extraction (322): $107.60

NT

  • Periodic exam (012): $35.70
  • Scale and clean (114): $52.90
  • Fluoride (121): $12.80
  • Extraction (322): $122.20
$600 a year
Major dental12 months
  • Full crown, veneered (615): $500
$700 a yearShared with Root canal (endodontics)
Root canal (endodontics)12 months

NSW / ACT

  • Root canal obturation (417): $105.30

VIC

  • Root canal obturation (417): $115.10

QLD

  • Root canal obturation (417): $129.70

WA

  • Root canal obturation (417): $107.70

SA

  • Root canal obturation (417): $116

TAS

  • Root canal obturation (417): $124.80

NT

  • Root canal obturation (417): $117.50
$700 a yearShared with Major dental
Orthodontics (braces)12 months
  • Upper and lower braces plus retainer (881): 100% of the fee
Not stated
Glasses and contact lenses6 months
  • Single vision lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
  • Multifocal lenses and frames: 100% of the fee
$200 a yearShared with Orthoptics
Non-PBS prescription medicines2 months
  • Per prescription: $21
$200 a yearShared with Psychology, Vaccinations
Physiotherapy2 months

NSW / ACT

  • Initial visit: $33.70
  • Subsequent visit: $27.50

VIC

  • Initial visit: $34.20
  • Subsequent visit: $26.50

QLD

  • Initial visit: $34.70
  • Subsequent visit: $28.50

WA

  • Initial visit: $33.10
  • Subsequent visit: $28.10

SA

  • Initial visit: $31.20
  • Subsequent visit: $26

TAS

  • Initial visit: $33.70
  • Subsequent visit: $28.10

NT

  • Initial visit: $39.30
  • Subsequent visit: $31.60
$500 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Chiropractic2 months

NSW / ACT

  • Initial visit: $37.30
  • Subsequent visit: $24.40

VIC

  • Initial visit: $34.20
  • Subsequent visit: $22.90

QLD

  • Initial visit: $32.60
  • Subsequent visit: $22.40

WA

  • Initial visit: $34.20
  • Subsequent visit: $22.40

SA

  • Initial visit: $33.10
  • Subsequent visit: $21.30

TAS

  • Initial visit: $33.20
  • Subsequent visit: $24

NT

  • Initial visit: $35.30
  • Subsequent visit: $24
$500 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
PsychologyNo waiting period

NSW / ACT

  • Initial visit: $101.33
  • Subsequent visit: $88.11

VIC

  • Initial visit: $102
  • Subsequent visit: $88.70

QLD

  • Initial visit: $96.68
  • Subsequent visit: $84.07

WA

  • Initial visit: $115.29
  • Subsequent visit: $100.25

SA

  • Initial visit: $118.37
  • Subsequent visit: $102.93

TAS

  • Initial visit: $94.99
  • Subsequent visit: $82.60

NT

  • Initial visit: $110.89
  • Subsequent visit: $96.42
$200 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines, Vaccinations
Acupuncture2 months

NSW / ACT

  • Initial visit: $23
  • Subsequent visit: $16

VIC

  • Initial visit: $27.80
  • Subsequent visit: $19.50

QLD

  • Initial visit: $27.20
  • Subsequent visit: $20.50

WA

  • Initial visit: $30.80
  • Subsequent visit: $24.40

SA

  • Initial visit: $26.40
  • Subsequent visit: $20.50

TAS

  • Initial visit: $28.80
  • Subsequent visit: $21.50

NT

  • Initial visit: $26.80
  • Subsequent visit: $25.40
$500 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Chinese herbal medicine, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Remedial massage2 months

NSW / ACT, VIC, WA

  • Initial visit: $33.80
  • Subsequent visit: $21.50

QLD

  • Initial visit: $33.70
  • Subsequent visit: $21.50

SA

  • Initial visit: $31.30
  • Subsequent visit: $21.50

TAS

  • Initial visit: $31.40
  • Subsequent visit: $21.50

NT

  • Initial visit: $41.20
  • Subsequent visit: $31.20
$150 a year
Antenatal and postnatal care2 months
  • Initial visit: $20
  • Subsequent visit: $20
$400 a yearShared with Occupational therapy, Speech therapy
Chinese herbal medicine2 months
  • Initial visit: $16
  • Subsequent visit: $16
$500 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy
Exercise physiology2 months
  • Initial visit: $16
  • Subsequent visit: $10
$500 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Osteopathy
Orthoptics2 months
  • Initial visit: $37.50
  • Subsequent visit: $27.50
$200 a yearShared with Glasses and contact lenses
Occupational therapy2 months

NSW / ACT

  • Initial visit: $50.90
  • Subsequent visit: $30.30

VIC

  • Initial visit: $38.30
  • Subsequent visit: $27.90

QLD

  • Initial visit: $43.60
  • Subsequent visit: $29.30

WA

  • Initial visit: $41.20
  • Subsequent visit: $23.20

SA

  • Initial visit: $43.60
  • Subsequent visit: $27.90

TAS

  • Initial visit: $50.20
  • Subsequent visit: $36.70

NT

  • Initial visit: $84.40
  • Subsequent visit: $34.90
$400 a yearShared with Antenatal and postnatal care, Speech therapy
Osteopathy2 months

NSW / ACT

  • Initial visit: $37.30
  • Subsequent visit: $24.40

VIC

  • Initial visit: $34.20
  • Subsequent visit: $22.90

QLD

  • Initial visit: $32.60
  • Subsequent visit: $22.40

WA

  • Initial visit: $34.20
  • Subsequent visit: $22.40

SA

  • Initial visit: $33.10
  • Subsequent visit: $21.30

TAS

  • Initial visit: $33.20
  • Subsequent visit: $24

NT

  • Initial visit: $35.30
  • Subsequent visit: $24
$500 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Exercise physiology
Speech therapy2 months

NSW / ACT

  • Initial visit: $64.20
  • Subsequent visit: $29.80

VIC

  • Initial visit: $59
  • Subsequent visit: $33.90

QLD

  • Initial visit: $56.60
  • Subsequent visit: $28.60

WA

  • Initial visit: $66.30
  • Subsequent visit: $31.50

SA

  • Initial visit: $59.90
  • Subsequent visit: $35.50

TAS

  • Initial visit: $48.10
  • Subsequent visit: $32.40

NT

  • Initial visit: $57.80
  • Subsequent visit: $33.80
$400 a yearShared with Antenatal and postnatal care, Occupational therapy
Vaccinations2 months
  • Per vaccination: 100% of the fee
$200 a yearShared with Non-PBS prescription medicines, Psychology

Not covered: Hearing aids, Audiology (hearing tests), Podiatry, Orthotics, Dietetics, Blood glucose monitors, Health management programs, Home nursing

Annual limits

Services in the same group share one limit.

  • General dental

    $600 a year

  • Major dental, Root canal (endodontics)

    $700 a year

  • Orthodontics (braces)

    Not stated

  • Glasses and contact lenses, Orthoptics

    $200 a year

  • Non-PBS prescription medicines, Psychology, Vaccinations

    $200 a year

  • Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, Exercise physiology, Osteopathy

    $500 a year

  • Remedial massage

    $150 a year

  • Antenatal and postnatal care, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy

    $400 a year

    Also includes other services not listed

Insurer's notes (original English)

Other services

Benefits for antenatal and postnatal services including birthing courses and lactation consultations with a registered midwife in private practice. Plus benefits towards Pregnancy Compression garments (2 mnth waiting period), $50 per garment, Tens machine (2 mnth waiting period), hired device $40 and purchased device $80. Australian Breastfeeding Association membership (2 mnth waiting period) $40.

Special features

A 12 month waiting period applies to surgical tooth extraction. Exercise physiology benefit is $16.00 for individual consultations and $10.00 for group consultations. Counselling (no waiting period) shares an annual limit with Psychology. Vaccinations - non PBS listed flu vaccinations only.

Frequently asked questions

How much does My Choice Extras Family 60 pay for a scale and clean?
According to government data, My Choice Extras Family 60 pays up to $46 per scale and clean (114), with a 2 months general dental waiting period. General dental annual limit: $600 a year.
What are the waiting periods for My Choice Extras Family 60?
General dental 2 months, Major dental 12 months, Root canal (endodontics) 12 months, Orthodontics (braces) 12 months, Glasses and contact lenses 6 months, Non-PBS prescription medicines 2 months, Physiotherapy 2 months, Chiropractic 2 months, Psychology No waiting period, Acupuncture 2 months, Remedial massage 2 months, Antenatal and postnatal care 2 months, Chinese herbal medicine 2 months, Exercise physiology 2 months, Orthoptics 2 months, Occupational therapy 2 months, Osteopathy 2 months, Speech therapy 2 months, Vaccinations 2 months.
Can My Choice Extras Family 60 be bought on its own?
Yes. This product doesn't need to be held with hospital cover.

Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits

Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.

Free matching

Are you making the most of your Extras?