Quality Extras
A Extras-only product from nib. Below is the cover registered in the government data: waiting period, benefit per visit and annual limit for each service.
This product is closed: it no longer accepts new members, but existing members can keep using it.
Services covered (26)
| Service | Waiting period | Max benefit per visit | Annual limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| General dental | 2 months |
| Not statedShared with Major dental |
| Major dental | 12 months |
| Not statedShared with General dental |
| Root canal (endodontics) | 12 months |
| Not stated |
| Orthodontics (braces) | 12 months |
| Not stated |
| Glasses and contact lenses | 6 months |
| $200 a year |
| Non-PBS prescription medicines | 2 months |
| $600 a year |
| Physiotherapy | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Chiropractic | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Podiatry | 2 months |
| $220 a year |
| Psychology | 2 months |
| $300 a year |
| Acupuncture | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Remedial massage | 2 months |
| Not statedShared with Chinese herbal medicine |
| Hearing aids | 36 months |
| $560 a year |
| Blood glucose monitors | 12 months |
| $600 a year |
| Antenatal and postnatal care | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Chinese herbal medicine | 2 months |
| Not statedShared with Remedial massage |
| Dietetics | 2 months |
| $250 a year |
| Exercise physiology | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Orthoptics | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Health management programs | 6 months |
| Not stated |
| Home nursing | 2 months |
| $750 a year |
| Occupational therapy | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Osteopathy, Speech therapy |
| Orthotics | 2 months |
| $200 a year |
| Osteopathy | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Speech therapy |
| Speech therapy | 2 months |
| $900 a yearShared with Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy |
| Vaccinations | 2 months |
| $100 a year |
Not covered: Audiology (hearing tests)
Annual limits
Services in the same group share one limit.
General dental, Major dental
Not stated
Root canal (endodontics)
Not stated
Orthodontics (braces)
Not stated
Glasses and contact lenses
$200 a year
Non-PBS prescription medicines
$600 a year
Physiotherapy, Chiropractic, Acupuncture, Antenatal and postnatal care, Exercise physiology, Orthoptics, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Speech therapy
$900 a year
Podiatry
$220 a year
Psychology
$300 a year
Remedial massage, Chinese herbal medicine
Not stated
Hearing aids
$560 a year, 2 per 5 years
Blood glucose monitors
$600 a year, 2 per year
Also includes other services not listed
Dietetics
$250 a year
Health management programs
Not stated
Home nursing
$750 a year
Orthotics
$200 a year
Vaccinations
$100 a year
Insurer's notes (original English)
Product features
A comprehensive Extras cover for services customers can use everyday to stay healthy. Of course, you can see your choice of provider, but by choosing a FirstChoice provider, you may have less to pay towards the cost of your treatment. We’ve created the FirstChoice network to help you access quality healthcare and a better deal for you and your family. We’ve locked in lower costs with our FirstChoice providers, so you can enjoy competitive treatment fees when you visit the dentist or a discount the next time you claim for glasses.
Other services
Combined Therapies ($900) includes acupuncture ($200 sub-limit, $400 sub-limit for families), antenatal services, chiropractic / osteopathy ($400 sub-limit), exercise physiology, eye therapy, occupational therapy, physiotherapy and speech pathology. Artificial aids ($600) e.g. spacer, peak flow meter, nebuliser, Irlen lens. Myotherapy: combined (limit of $170 for singles, $340 for family groups) with remedial massage and Chinese herbalism. Healthier Lifestyle includes nib approved weight management programs, quit smoking and nicotine replacement. Post-natal services not included. Psychology has a sublimit of $150 for Digital Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT).
Special features
Benefit paid after current PBS patient contribution deducted
Frequently asked questions
How much does Quality Extras pay for a scale and clean?
What are the waiting periods for Quality Extras?
Can Quality Extras be bought on its own?
Already have Extras? Make the most of your limits
Tell us your insurer and product name. We'll help you see what you can claim and find providers who speak your language and offer on-the-spot HICAPS claims.
